Home » Holiday extensions » Glasgow
Glasgow

The Heart of Glasgow with overnight hotel accommodation. The largest Scottish city is unjustly overshadowed by Edinburgh. Anyone interested in architecture, beautiful artworks, museums and galleries and the monuments of an eventful history, in a city buzzing with life and culture which is known for the friendliness of its people, will be delighted with Glasgow and its outgoing inhabitants. Not for nothing was Glasgow named the Cultural Capital of Europe in 1990.

Above all, the friendly and quick-witted Glaswegians are a “national institution”. The classic answer to the question of what is the finest thing you can see in Edinburgh comes unhesitatingly, with a mischievous smile, “The railway line back to Glasgow, of course”.

 

Enjoy Glasgow’s highlights on a city tour and on foot: George Square, City Chambers, Glasgow University, the River Clyde and its docks, and visit imposing Glasgow Cathedral. Immediately beside the cathedral is the extraordinarily interesting St Mungo’s Museum of World Religions. In the Pollok Park you will find the fascinating Burrell Collection, and Pollok House, which contains one of the most famous collections of Spanish oil paintings in Europe. In the Kelvingrove Art Gallery you can spend many days and still not see all the amazing exhibits.

Of course in the evening you shouldn’t miss out on the traditional pub crawl. We recommend the working men’s pub, The Horseshoe Bar, to start with. There you can experience the real Glasgow and meet genuinely friendly Glaswegians.

PRICES 2015:

Price for 1 day holiday extension accommodation in a good quality mid-range hotel in the city centre:
– with half-board (very good three-course dinner and full Scottish breakfast)

£ 110.00 per person per night with half board

– Price without dinner and with full Scottish breakfast:

£ 85.00 per person per night with breakfast

– single room supplement: £ 30.00 per night

– children under 12 sharing with parents: 50% of adult price

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2017 Rob Roy Tours

Glasgow

Das herzliche Glasgow

Das herzliche Glasgow mit Hotelübernachtung. Die größte schottische Stadt fristet zu unrecht ein Schattendasein hinter Edinburgh. Wer sich für Architektur, die schönen Künste, Zeugnisse bewegter Geschichte und freundliche Leute in einer pulsierenden Kulturmetropole interessiert, der wird von Glasgow begeistert sein. Nicht umsonst war Glasgow sogar schon 1990 Kulturhauptstadt Europas.

Vor allem die freundlichen und humorvollen Glaswegians sind schon eine “national institution” wie man hier sagt. Die klassische Antwort auf die Frage, was denn das Schönste von Edinburgh sei, sagt man hier ohne zu zögern mit einem verschmitzten Lächeln: “Die Bahnfahrt zurück nach Glasgow, natürlich…”

Höhepunkte in Glasgow

Genießen Sie die Höhepunkte von Glasgow auf Stadtrundfahrten und zu Fuß: George Square, City Chambers, Glasgow University, der Fluss Clyde mit den Docks und Besuch der imposanten Glasgow Cathedral. Direkt neben der Kathedrale liegt das außergewöhnlich interessante St Mungo’s Museum der Weltreligionen. Im Pollock Parks finden Sie die faszinierende Burrell-Kunstsammlung, und das Pollock House, das eine der bedeutendsten Sammlungen spanischer Ölgemälde Europas beherbergt. In der Kelvingrove Art Gallery können Sie viele Tage verbringen, ohne alle Ausstellungsstücke bewundert zu haben.

Natürlich darf am Abend nicht der traditionelle pup crawl oder Kneipenbummel fehlen. Wir empfehlen die Arbeiterkneipe “Horseshoe” Bar als Einführung. Dort erleben Sie das richtige Glasgow der herzlichen und freundlichen Glaswegians.

PREISE 2016:
PREIS AB EINtägiger Hotelverlängerung im gutbürgerlichen Mittelklassehotel im Stadtzentrum, im Doppelzimmer

EUR 135,00 pro Person im Hotel mit Halbpension

Preis ohne Abendessen und mit Übernachtung/Frühstück:

EUR 99,00 pro Person im Hotel

– Einzelzimmer: plus EUR 40,00 pro Nacht
– Kinderermäßigung im Zusatzbett bis 12 Jahre: 50%

Copyright © 2017 Rob Roy Tours – Reiseveranstalter für Busrundreisen, Bahnreisen, Whiskyreisen, Autorundreisen und individuelle Reisen in Schottland